Hespérus

Association for intercultural artistic mediation

Our association promotes artistic expression among people who are far from creation. The artists of the association, coming from various artistic fields such as photography, cinema, theatre, dance, music, plastic arts and writing, propose to carry out their missions through specific methods of intervention which aim to reinforce mediation, interdisciplinarity, cooperation, transversality, exchanges, interculturality and openness to difference.

Enhancing social contact processes through artistic disciplines: here’s the heart of the Hespérus project. The variety of expression of the artistic media carried by the association and the creativity thus generated aim at a social project based, upstream, on the creation of a strong bond between the participants.

The design of the projects is mainly intended for institutions, social structures and non-governmental organizations that wish to develop mediation workshops led by artists, for targeted audiences. In these particular contexts, the mediation space becomes a window to a new universe, to a self-narrative, reconciled by the collective experience that the participants create through their artistic expression.

Hespérus, with its team of artists, employs alternative routes to make these so-called “remote” audiences express themselves when oral or written language is lacking, by giving voice to the images, bodies, writing and to self-expression that spring from these artistic experiences. The association’s objective is to dismantle the social barriers faced by specific audiences.

Artistic education in the service of social work thus appears to be a privileged means of access to new knowledge and to a form of awareness and enhancement. It allows to overcome the obstacles linked to linguistic, cultural or social problems; the participants venture on this journey with the same luggage: their subjectivity, their imagination and their mode of expression.

These artistic projects provide a different social and human experience mediated by professionals who are passionate about their artistic field; they create bonds and new ways of living together, exploring the richness, differences and creativity of each person.

OBJECTIVES

Discovery
During the workshops, the artist proposes to the participants the discovery of his discipline. The exploration of the proposed expressive medium will be an opportunity for the public to encounter different artistic practices and to create a project.

Enhancement
At the end of the adventure, the implementation of the achievements and experiences is enhanced through the staging of a performance, an exhibition, a book, a trip, a film, or a cultural exchange with another country.

Synergy
Setting up artists’ residencies and cultural projects in France and abroad, thanks to a network of contacts with other associations, NGOs, cultural centres, social facilities, schools and institutions.

CHALLENGES

To encourage and develop personal expression through artistic creation

To engage in processes at the intersection of exchange and interculturality

To encourage human relationships, to enter into dialogue with the participants during the artistic experience and thus to foster the encounter with the other.

Justine Verneret, the founder of Hespérus

The Hespérus association is part of an individual path made of discoveries and initiatives in the artistic field, and of a relationship with visual language that has been built up over the years.

Born in 1980 in Lyon, Justine Verneret came up with the idea of creating an association in 2019, during a training course for her University Diploma in Conflict Management, Mediation and Interculturality at the Catholic University of Lyon. Already graduated from the School of Applied Arts of the city of Lyon (2004) and with a master’s degree in Journalistic Design at the Pompeu Fabra University in Barcelona (2005), she then developed an artistic and pedagogical practice of photography and plastic arts alongside institutions, schools and social facilities.

In 2011, she founded the contemporary photography gallery BlooGallery in Rome, Italy. In 2016, she intervened at the Bloo School of Photography in Lyon, teaching courses on the history of photography. In 2016, she also gave literacy classes at the Joel Nafuma refugee centre in Rome.

It was especially between 2004 and 2010, during her plastic art classes in secondary schools and high schools, and her first workshops in local schools and in a prison centre, that the evidence of the social and human power of certain artistic media, became obvious. Power of expression, power of liberation, power of connection: these are the key concepts of her artistic missions. The visual language, and in particular photography, appears to be the right mediation and the promising alliance between the inner and the outer world, between the singular and the collective, between “I” and “the Other”.

The exploration of different mediums from multi-disciplinary artistic fields, during mediatory actions is an important part of her professional experience that led to the creation of the Hespérus association.

OUR PARTNERS

Le Bleu du ciel

Centre for contemporary photography

BALKANS EXPRESSion

Promotion of the culture, ecology,
economy and heritage of the Balkans

Arts & Enfance

Art in support of children in difficulty

GRAPRODH​

Educational Support Group
for the Promotion of Human Rights

Ecohumanita

Association working for the access and the right to sustainable development in Latin America

Hespérus

Association de médiation artistique interculturelle

Notre association favorise l’expression artistique auprès de publics éloignés de la création. Les artistes de l’association, issus de divers champs artistiques tels que la photographie, le cinéma, le théâtre, la danse, la musique, les arts-plastiques et l’écriture, se proposent de réaliser des missions à travers des dispositifs d’interventions qui ont pour objet de renforcer la médiation, l’interdisciplinarité, la coopération, la transversalité, les échanges, l’interculturalité, et l’ouverture sur la différence.

Accroître des processus de contact sociaux via des disciplines artistiques : le cœur du projet d’Hespérus réside ici. La gamme d’expression des médiums artistiques portée par l’association et la créativité ainsi engendrée visent un projet social axé, en amont, sur un fort lien fédérateur.

La conception des projets s’adressent aux institutions, aux structures sociales et aux organisations non gouvernementales, qui souhaitent développer au sein de publics ciblés des ateliers de médiation avec des artistes. Dans ces contextes à chaque fois particuliers, l’espace de médiation devient une lucarne vers un nouvel univers, vers un récit de soi, concilié par l’expérience collective que créent les participants à travers l’expression artistique.

Hespérus avec son équipe d’artistes se saisit alors d’un circuit alternatif pour « faire exprimer » ces publics dits « éloignés » lorsque le langage oral ou écrit fait défaut, en donnant la parole aux images, aux corps, à l’écriture, à l’expression de soi qui jaillissent de ces expériences artistiques. L’objectif de l’association vise à démanteler les barrières sociales devant lesquelles des publics précis se retrouvent.

L’éducation artistique au service du travail social apparaît ainsi comme un moyen privilégié d’accès à de nouveaux savoirs et à une forme de reconnaissance et de valorisation. Elle permet de dépasser les obstacles liés aux problématiques linguistiques, culturelles ou sociales ; les participants s’aventurent dans ce voyage avec les mêmes bagages : leur subjectivité, leur imaginaire et leur mode d’expression.

Ces projets artistiques permettent de vivre une expérience sociale et humaine différente et médiatisée par des professionnels passionnés par leur champ artistique ; ils créent du lien et de nouvelles manières de vivre ensemble, en explorant la richesse, les différences, et la créativité de chacun.

Objectifs

Découverte
Lors de la mise en place d’ateliers, l’artiste propose la découverte de sa discipline aux participants. L’exploration du médium proposé sera l’occasion pour le public de croiser différentes pratiques artistiques, et de créer un projet.

Valorisation
À la fin de l’aventure, la mise en œuvre des réalisations et expériences est valorisée à travers un spectacle, une exposition, un ouvrage, un voyage, un film, ou un échange culturel avec un autre pays.

Synergie
Mise en place de résidences d’artistes et de projets culturels en France et à l’étranger en contact avec d’autres associations, des ong, des centres culturels, des structures sociales, des écoles et des institutions.

Enjeux

Favoriser et développer l’expression personnelle à travers la création artistique

S’engager dans des processus à l’intersection d’échanges et d’interculturalité

Encourager la relation humaine, rentrer en dialogue avec les participants le temps de l’expérience artistique et favoriser ainsi la rencontre de l’autre.

Justine Verneret, fondatrice d'Hespérus

L’association Hespérus s’insère dans un parcours individuel fait de découvertes et d’initiatives dans le champs artistique, et dans un rapport au langage visuel qui s’est construit au cours des années.

Née en 1980 à Lyon, Justine Verneret a concrétisé l’idée de créer une association lors d’une formation en 2019 dans le cadre du D.U : Gestion des conflits, Médiation et Interculturalité à l’Université Catholique de Lyon. Titulaire d’un diplôme de l’école des arts-appliqués de la ville de Lyon en 2004 et d’un master de design journalistique à l’Université Pompeu Fabra de Barcelone en 2005, elle a développé par la suite une pratique artistique et pédagogique à travers le médium photographique et celui des arts-plastiques auprès d’institutions, de structures scolaires et sociales.

En 2011, elle a fondé la galerie de photographie contemporaine BlooGallery en Italie à Rome. Elle est intervenue en 2016 à l’école de photographie Bloo à Lyon pour assurer des cours sur l’histoire de la photographie. En 2016, elle a donné également des cours d’alphabétisation au centre de réfugiés Joel Nafuma à Rome.

Lors de ses vacations d’arts-plastiques en collèges et en lycées, et de ses premiers ateliers dans les écoles de quartier, dans les collèges en zone prioritaire, dans un centre pénitentiaire qui couvrent la période de 2004-2010, le pouvoir social et humain dont certains médiums artistiques pouvaient être porteurs, s’est imposé comme une évidence. Pouvoir d’expression, pouvoir de libération, pouvoir de liaison sont les concepts clés de ses missions artistiques. Le langage visuel et plus particulièrement celui de la photographie apparait comme la juste médiation et l’alliance prometteuse entre le monde intérieur et le monde extérieur, entre le singulier et le collectif, entre « je » et « l’Autre ».

L’exploration de différents médiums issus de champs artistiques pluri-disciplinaires dans des situations de médiation, s’inscrivent dans le cheminement de son vécu professionnel et dans la création de l’association Hespérus.

Partenaires

Le Bleu du ciel
Centre de photographie contemporaine
BALKANS EXPRESSion

Promotion de la culture, de l’écologie,
de l’économie et du patrimoine des Balkans

Arts & Enfance

L’Art au soutien de l’enfance en difficultés

GRAPRODH​

Groupe d’Appui Educatif
pour la Promotion des Droits de l’Homme​

Ecohumanita

Association œuvrant pour l’accès et l’exercice du droit au développement durable en Amérique Latine